HHS Students Qualify to Compete
in the NY State DECA Business Competition

Student participation continues to grow at Harrison High School and across New York State, and HHS students succeed at high levels. Most recently, the Harrison High School DECA Business Club earned top spots at the 2023 Regional competition, which includes Westchester, Rockland, Orange, Ulster, and Albany Counties. Harrison High School Students will compete in the New York State DECA Business Competition in March.  The top five students in each division, and the top students who submitted Manuals at the Regional level advance to the New York State competition. 


Eleanor Gilmore earned 1st place and Addison Valente earned 2nd place in the Principles of Hospitality and Tourism division, and Zakaria Ahmed placed 2nd in the Business Finance division. Six Harrison students earned 3rd place: Andrew Gaffin and Jonathan Lewis (Hospitality Services), Jeremy Xhayet and Chase Ende (Sports & Entertainment Marketing), Lauren Schnapp (Retail Merchandising}, Rachel Kindler (Hotel & Lodging Management). Three students placed 4th: Natalie Kaplan (Principles of Finance); Ismail Kapadia (Human Resource Management); Michael Griff (Sports & Entertainment Marketing); and three students placed 5th: Landsey Solis (Accounting Applications); Bryan Wolfe (Entrepreneurship Series); Riko Suzuki (Principles of Business Management & Administration).


Students also wrote and submitted a Manual (research paper) that in the regionals that qualified for state level of competition: Hospitality & Tourism Operations – Izzy Estroff, Gianna Salvo and Noah Geller, Mathew Marsh; Sports & Entertainment Marketing Operations – Mason Danzig, Andrew Caparelli, Henry Hurvitz; Business Solutions Project – Andrew Pashinin, Valentin Riou; Career Development Project – Shweta Nadagouda; Community Awareness Project – MIa Strazza, Parker Yates, Harper Lapin; Community Giving Project – Eva Popescu, Isabella Cajhancu; Financial Literacy Project – Stella Perini & Cate Ansel; Innovation Plan – Michael Sica, Jacob Oestreicher, Max Johannson; Independent Business Plan – Jordon Lubowitz, Jared Schwartz; Business Growth Plan – Mark Loguidice, Eric Marino; International Business Plan – Aidan Oestreicher Nikhil Sood, Benji Peligri; Start-up Business Plan – Alec Udell, Justin Gilden Brayden Gonzalez; Franchise Business Plan – Joseph McGurk, Jake Marriott; Integrated Marketing Campaign Events (Event, Product or Service) – Gianni Tammaro, Ben Zuchorski, Colin Dempsey, and Stephanie Reed & Alex Paternoster, and Sarah Rodriguez Olivia Minichiello, and Jessica Kritzman, Emma Mazzella, Sydney Friedman, and Jessica Kritzman, Emma Mazzella, Sydney Friedman, and Maya Boraczek, Kyra Repa.