School & Youth News

HHS Students Qualify to Compete in the NY State DECA Business Competition

Student participation continues to grow at Harrison High School and across New York State, and HHS students succeed at high levels.

Harrison High School Debaters Named Academic All Americans

Jessie Pein, Thomas Berg and Charles Zenhausern were named Academic All Americans by the National Speech & Debate Association. 

Purchase College Professors Awarded Major Grant

Purchase College, SUNY, has announced that Associate Professor of History Leandro Benmergui, Assistant Professor of Language and Culture Alfredo Garcia-Pardo, and Associate Professor of Literature and Director of the School of Humanities Aviva Taubenfeld have been awarded a major grant in the amount of $150,000 by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) to support Humanities Initiatives for Hispanic Serving Institutions.

Purchase College Announces the Spring 2023 Durst Distinguished Lecture Series

Purchase College, SUNY, has  announced that National Book Award winner Susan Choi has been selected to serve as the Spring 2023 Roy and Shirley Durst Distinguished Chair in Literature. She will offer a reading and conversation on Monday, February 27 at 6pm. Later in the semester she will be in conversation with Professor Rachel Dickstein on Monday, April 3 at 6pm.

Harrison Teen Scientists Selected for Achievements in STEM Innovation and Leadership

On January 10,  Society for Science (the Society) announced the top 300 scholars in the Regeneron Science Talent Search 2023, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious science and math competition for high school seniors. The 300 scholars will be awarded $2,000 each and their schools will be awarded $2,000 for each enrolled scholar.

Randy Gunnell from Harrison High School Selected as Master Teacher

Governor Kathy Hochul announced the selection of 221 educators to the New York State Master Teacher Program, a professional network of public-school teachers with a passion for inspiring the next generation of STEM leaders.