c2020 Shoreline Publishing, Inc.        629 Fifth Avenue, Suite 213        Pelham, NY 10803        Phone: 914-738-7869        hp@shorelinepub.com        shorelinepub.com

January 2020

Pictured are (l. to r.) honoree Dawn French, Senior VP of Marketing and Community Outreach at White Plains Hospital, Matthew G. Anderson, President and CEO of The Osborn and Jana Seitz, President of the Board, Edith Read Wildlife Sanctuary.

The Osborn Honors “Women Who Make a Difference”

The Osborn Foundation hosted its fifth Annual “Women Who Make a Difference” Foundress Award luncheon on October 2, 2019. Nearly 250 guests attended the event, which was held at The Osborn in Rye. This year’s honorees were Dawn French of Purchase and Jana Seitz, President of the Board, Edith Read Wildlife Sanctuary in Rye.


The Foundress Award is given to women in the local community whose professional and personal achievements enhance the quality of life for seniors and their families. “We are delighted to honor Dawn French and Jana Seitz for their longtime commitment to the community,” said Matthew G. Anderson, President and CEO, The Osborn. “They are both exemplary individuals who have dedicated themselves to helping make Rye and Westchester County a better place to live and work.”


The guest speaker for the event was Dr. Carrie Rebora Barratt, CEO of the New York Botanical Garden, the first female CEO of the organization, which was founded in 1891. Previously, Dr. Barratt was the Deputy Director for Collections and Administration at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. She discussed the influence of modern women on art and nature.


Proceeds from the auction and luncheon will go to support The Osborn Charity Care Program, which provides care and residency on The Osborn campus for those who outlive their resources or cannot afford to pay from the outset.


In 2018, The Osborn provided more than $3.3 million of charity care. It also supports Osborn Home Care services for residents of The Osborn and seniors at home in both Westchester and Fairfield Counties who cannot afford to pay for care.