c2019 Shoreline Publishing, Inc.


629 Fifth Avenue, Suite 213

Pelham, NY 10803

P: 914-738-7869



JULY 2019

Debate Team Places 4th in Nation

Congratulations to the Harrison High School Debate Team on placing 4th in the nation and having two top 25 finishes at the 2019 NCFL Grand National Tournament. This year's NCFL championship was held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; 216 Lincoln-Douglas debaters from approximately 30 states competed against each other for the national title.


Out of that field, junior Ava Zinman placed 4th overall, reaching semifinals. Ava was undefeated in preliminary rounds with a 13-2 ballot count, and cleared as the tournament's 4th seed. She byed through the play-in round and won her double-octofinal and quarterfinal rounds. This is the third time a Harrison debater has reached semifinals of NCFL Nationals, and is the strongest showing the team has had at this tournament since 2014.


Senior Eli Lapkin placed 25th overall; he was eliminated in double-octofinals on a close 2-1 decision. Eli cleared as the tournament's 16th seed, with an impressive 11-4 ballot count; like Ava, he byed through the play-in round. In his last preliminary round, he received a perfect 30 in speaker points from all 3 of his judges.


Sophomore Rebecca Anderson also had a winning ballot count, and did an excellent job in a difficult field.


This year is the second time that two Harrison debaters have finished in the top 25 at NCFL Nationals.